Letter to parents & students: Exceptional red-zone measures imposed in Gatineau and MRC des Collines

It does not reflect the directives and measures in place for the 2021-2022 school year


Parents, Guardians & Students,

At a press conference today Wednesday March 31, Premier François Legault made the following announcements:

The city of Gatineau and the MRC des Collines will have exceptional measures imposed as of 8:00 pm on Thursday, April 1. These measures include:

  • The following schools and centres will be closed from Tuesday, April 6 through to April 9, inclusive:
    • Buckingham Elementary School
    • Chelsea Elementary School
    • D’Arcy McGee High School
    • Eardley Elementary School
    • Greater Gatineau Elementary School
    • Hadley Junior High School
    • Hull Adult Education Centre
    • Lord Aylmer Elementary School
    • Onslow Elementary School
    • Philemon Wright High School
    • Pierre Elliot Trudeau Elementary School
    • Poltimore Elementary School
    • South Hull Elementary School
    • St. Mike’s High School
    • Symmes Junior High School
    • Wakefield Elementary School
    • Western Quebec Career Centre
  • Secondary students at the above-listed schools will maintain their schedules through distance education.
  • Elementary students at the above-listed schools will have learning activities and schedules determined by individual schools.
  • Students at the Western Quebec Career Centre and the Hull Adult Education Centre will maintain their schedules through distance education.

The Outaouais region has been coded ‘Red’; as such, the following measures are in effect for schools outside of Gatineau and MRC des Collines:

  • Beginning Tuesday, April 6, all elementary students from grades 1 to 6 must wear procedural masks while in classes, inside the school, and on school buses.
  • Beginning Tuesday, April 6, all secondary students (secondary I to V) must wear procedural masks at all times while at school, and on school buses.
  • Extracurricular activities must be carried out in class bubbles.

Please note there are no changes for the WQSB schools in Region 08 (Abitibi-Témiscamingue):

  • G. Théberge School
  • Noranda School
  • Golden Valley School


George Singfield
Secretary General and Director of Corporate Services & Communication

For more information regarding COVID and our sanitary protocols, visit westernquebec.ca/coronavirus, where you will find this very letter, and a wealth of other resources.

Back to News